RSS

Joshua Harris Stepping Down From Covenant Life Church

27 Jan

harrisJoshua Harris is widely known for his first book “I Kissed Dating Goodbye”. In 2004, after being mentored by C.J.Mahaney, he was set in as the lead Pastor of Covenant Life Church in Maryland.

This past Sunday, Harris announced he will be stepping down from the 3000 member church to attend seminary.

I’ve extracted the following and the entire statement can be read  here.

Announcement

“So I’m going to cut to the chase and start with the announcement: My big news is that later this spring I’m going to step down from my role as lead pastor so that I can go to seminary. The school I’ll be attending is called Regent College, and it’s on the West Coast in Vancouver, B.C. My plan is to attend for at least a year with a good possibility that I will stay a second year to pursue a master’s degree.

Obviously, this is a huge decision and it has significant ramifications for my family and for our church. It has not been an easy decision for me to make. It’s been heart wrenching, and there has been much prayer, much counsel and much discussion. In a few minutes, I want to share the story of how I came to this decision, but the bottom line is that I believe Jesus is calling me to do this.

I think he stills calls people to drop their nets and follow him.

I don’t know all that the future holds, but I know that Jesus is leading me into a season of recalibration as a leader. I believe my Master wants me to turn aside for a time of study and training.”

>related post:

https://antagoniz.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/covenant-life-church-ends-relationship-with-sovereign-grace-ministries/

https://antagoniz.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/c-j-mahaney-and-joshua-harris-resign-the-gospel-coalition/ ] 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
