RSS

Whats Wrong With The Teachings Of Joseph Prince?

23 Sep

Prince is tremendously popular among many Christians today. However, he is rapidly becoming one of the most criticized dueimageto his perverted grace message that fuels flagrant antinomianism.

For instance, the book of Jude warns.” some ungodly men have wormed their way into your churches, saying that God’s marvelous grace allows us to live immoral lives. The condemnation of such people was recorded long ago, for they have denied our only Master and Lord, Jesus Christ.” There are key leaders today who see this verse being most applicable to Joseph Prince.

And according to this recent Charisma online article by Bishop Joseph Mattera of Resurrection Church, in Brooklyn, there is more concern to be had  when it comes to the teachings of Prince.

I’ve extracted the major points he put forward in the article.

rgh

1. Prince Makes Blanket Statements and Tries to Fit All Scripture Within His System: For example, he says it is not necessary to confess our sins and that Paul’s epistles never give an example of a believer confessing sin…The challenge I have with this teaching is that in 1 John 1:9, John teaches us to confess our sins. Although Prince acknowledges that this passage refutes his teaching on radical grace, he tries to get around it by saying this passage was written to the gnostics in the church—something he states without citing any commentaries, sources or historical evidence.

2. Prince Bases His Theology Only on the Writings of Paul  

Although I admire Paul, Prince has to be careful with statements like this because he can give the impression that the other writings of the New Testament are not inspired or even canonical. (Even the gnostics only cited Paul and disregarded the other epistles as well as the Old Testament.)

3. Prince Doesn’t Clearly Define the Role of the Moral Law of God:

 Prince says there is no room for preaching the law of God in the church and that God only blesses the message of grace. However, church history does not back this up.

4. Prince Believes in “Once Saved, Always Saved”

As a typical dispensationalist, Prince believes that once a person receives Jesus Christ as Savior, they can never lose their salvation. The challenge I have with this is that it fails to interpret individual passages honestly that disagree with this particular system.

5. Prince Teaches That God Can’t Get Angry With or Punish Christians 

Prince says God does not get angry with Christians. But what about the admonition in Ephesians 4 to not grieve the Holy Spirit? (In Ephesians 4:30, grieve means “to cause great sorrow and distress,” which is akin to causing anger). Even stronger is Paul’s warning in Ephesians 5:6 against living an immoral life that brings God’s wrath on the disobedient. What about the sin that leads to death referenced in 1 John 5:16?

6. Prince Says God Is Not Judging Any Nation Because of the Cross 

Prince teaches that God did not judge Sodom until Lot was removed, thus making a case that God will not judge any nation that has a presence of believers in it. What Prince fails to realize is that the Old Testament is replete with illustrations in which God judged the nations of Israel and Judah by disinheriting them even though there was a remnant left who believed. (See, for example, Isaiah 6:13.)

7. Prince Preaches an Individual Gospel That’s Disconnected From the Cultural Commission of Genesis 1:28

Perhaps one of the biggest flaws in Prince’s radical grace doctrine is that his dispensational belief doesn’t allow him to connect the gospel to the cultural commission of Genesis 1:28. Believers who embrace the original cultural commission God gave humanity through Adam and Eve (and reconfirmed to Noah after the fall in Genesis 9:1-2) realize we need the moral and civic law to understand how to disciple a nation (Matt. 28:19).
 
20 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

20 responses to “Whats Wrong With The Teachings Of Joseph Prince?

  1. joshandrewbrown

    September 23, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    Thank You!!!!

     
  2. mikelunatic

    September 23, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    I always truly appreciate your teachings and perspectives Pastor Hanner. Although I cannot always say I agree with you, the cases you present are well grounded in the God’ Word. And if I disagree, you make it most difficult to defend my position scripturally. I have enjoyed Joseph Prince’s teaching, but only on a superficial level. I have not bothered to personally investigate what he is saying, a dangerous practice I know. And though I have been encouraged by these teachings, you have motivated me to seek a better understanding of what it is I am listening to. I know this to be a subtle way the enemy operates, as we love to have our own ears tickled. Before we know it, we are spouting out heresies without even realizing the errors within. Thank you once again for persuading us to keep our theology “biblically honest.” And for warning us from taking the way of lazy scholarship.

    God bless you sir,
    Mike

     
  3. Botanical

    November 27, 2013 at 9:48 am

    I asked God one day to show me Law vs Grace…Here’s what he gave me…A Botanical Gospel…What? Yes I said botanical Gospel. Here’s how it works….

    Soil–What makes it fertile? Death and Decay…what is that Death and Decay? Repentance when you do sin and Turning from Sin. You wont be sinless. don’t kid yourself, but you must crucify your flesh with all of your might….Where you fail, repent and confess…These things together, not one without the other are what produce fertile soil
    Water- This is the Blood of Jesus that transforms the deadness and decay. It takes sin and grants atonement to the believer. So that God has nothing he could chide you for as you stand before him washed in the Blood. Your sins are covered….No Longer counting your sins against you….NOT Guilty…..Its that simple….
    Sunlight- The Holy Spirit- Do not neglect the Holy Spirit as he is our Comforter and our source of truth, pointing to the Word of God and the Blood of the Lamb who was slain before the foundation of the earth

    What do you get when you put these together? Fruit— and that’s what every religion other than Christianity strives for, unfortunately unsuccessfully. Why? Because they do not believe in the only Son of God who was killed for my sin and your sin. Do you see him? He’s in the Garden of Eden to the Closing verses of Revelation. The fruit produces by these three things is what God wants from the human race, his people. The fruit produces is loving kindness, peace joy compassion for the poor, hungry needed and broken, a desire to spread this beautiful truth of Salvation. It does not produce a ME based mentality of wealth and riches

     
  4. botanical

    November 27, 2013 at 9:49 am

    Part 2 of the Botanical Gospel.. The problem is that when churches or people take one of the three or two of the three, they get …..well, not the full gospel. You know them. I’ve sat in churches where it’s repentance, guilt, repentance, guilt…come back next week…repentance and guilt again. No redemption through the blood. You’ve repented and done everything in your power to crucify your flesh? Then you are forgiven when you believe this gospel…stop the guilt….Go FREE…
    I’ve also sat in churches where its all Grace and no repentance and turning..It does not work….read the bible and know that there is no difference between Paul and James…they are saying the same thing

    The Gospel is so simple…we make it hard by taking one aspect and focusing on it while ignoring the other parts…Remember…Botanical Gospel. Soil, Water and Sunlight. Repentance and Turning, the Blood of Jesus and the Holy Spirit…not just one by themselves… Plants created randomly? No…they reflect the Gospel….I could write millions upon millions of books on Nature reflecting the Blood of Jesus…but you think about it….what is an animal killing another animal for life represent? God told me this…and this is true…that Nature plays out the passion of the Christ trillions of times each day. He does not treat the slaughter of his Son lightly..It is on display right now in your backyard, in your park, in the woods, in the sky and in the sea….The Blood of Jesus is demonstrated for you…Animals are portraying the purchase back of mankind from sin’s grasp. Death producing life…I love all of you and pray you will see each day, the true Gospel….

     
  5. Yegeta Lij

    July 26, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    Joseph prince is one of the most anointed preacher across the world who restored the Grace of God all across the world. Really I like him because He always lead me to Jesus Christ! Even he critics others he use Jesus as a center!!

     
    • Terence Hua

      August 28, 2016 at 1:26 pm

      I don’t think you have read the Bible from page 1 to the last page once. If you have, repeat another 9 times. Then, comment. Otherwise, you are rendering an opinion that has neither refuted nor contributed nor added nor subtracted from the article.

      In fact, your opinion tells me clearly you like Pastor Prince and/or his teachings because they bring you to Christ. I.e., you do not know Christ of for yourself and of your own.

      Of course we all need guidance. Even Pastors and any church leaders of any seniority do. Anyone out there to correct me on this point?

      Back to knowing Christ. He was the Word (i.e., the embodiment of the Bible – the best possible collection we have in hand now for the entirety of all of God’s Word. Christ is God’s Word made God the Son*.

      *Also self-termed as Son of Man by Jesus, which if yo have the Bible diligently, you would have read of the lineage of Adam downwards. Whereupon you will come across a descendant whose name is literally translated into “Man” and after the birth of his child, – i..e, literally the “Son of Man” – was the teaching of God widespread.

      Please. For your own sake, do not depend wholly on someone to know Christ (aka, the whole Word and therefore God himself). Worse if you like/love whomsoever is bringing you closer to your idea and concept and understanding of Christ (and thereby God as a whole), against and despite all errors displayed to you, that you cannot correct one iota.

      Why? It shows me, in your case, your love for Prince is equal or more than your live for Christ and/or, your love for Christ (and therefore God in his fullness) is dependant on your love for Prince.

      I assure you on my salvation, if you say you are save by faith and live life however you want, and say you stray, your declarations will become lip service, which God detests. You will have offended the Holy Spirit that Christ himself did say was not pardonable. Why? As one having experience grace and yet live as though “faith without works” is ok, your heart has spat on God’s Grace and upon the Holy Spirit you have access to, whom continuously brings to remembrance all things.

      Love,
      (1) A fellow always attempting to be very repentant sinner, (2) who dares not even dare acknowledge he is a Christian publicly, (3) for fear Christ’s name will be diminished or be disgraced by my well-known misdeeds, (4) as I cannot turn back time to change that which I have transgressed under law, (5) but which my attempts at repentance are so minuscule because the law shows me the great magnitude of my wrongdoings, (6) though done (my repentance) and doing very God-fully sorrowfully and very sorry-ily, because (7) in Faith I know despite the extent of my badness, (8) Jesus love me this I know, (9) for the Bible tells me so, (10) so sings the Holy Spirit, as I tearfully end this typing. (11) Simply because I am so contrite now (12) I scarce can share anymore. (13) I wish you could see me now. (14) Cause sad eyes never lie.

       
      • Terence Hua

        August 28, 2016 at 1:27 pm

        I don’t think you have read the Bible from page 1 to the last page once. If you have, repeat another 9 times. Then, comment. Otherwise, you are rendering an opinion that has neither refuted nor contributed nor added nor subtracted from the article.

        In fact, your opinion tells me clearly you like Pastor Prince and/or his teachings because they bring you to Christ. I.e., you do not know Christ of for yourself and of your own.

        Of course we all need guidance. Even Pastors and any church leaders of any seniority do. Anyone out there to correct me on this point?

        Back to knowing Christ. He was the Word (i.e., the embodiment of the Bible – the best possible collection we have in hand now for the entirety of all of God’s Word. Christ is God’s Word made God the Son*.

        *Also self-termed as Son of Man by Jesus, which if yo have the Bible diligently, you would have read of the lineage of Adam downwards. Whereupon you will come across a descendant whose name is literally translated into “Man” and after the birth of his child, – i..e, literally the “Son of Man” – was the teaching of God widespread.

        Please. For your own sake, do not depend wholly on someone to know Christ (aka, the whole Word and therefore God himself). Worse if you like/love whomsoever is bringing you closer to your idea and concept and understanding of Christ (and thereby God as a whole), against and despite all errors displayed to you, that you cannot correct one iota.

        Why? It shows me, in your case, your love for Prince is equal or more than your live for Christ and/or, your love for Christ (and therefore God in his fullness) is dependant on your love for Prince.

        I assure you on my salvation, if you say you are save by faith and live life however you want, and say you stray, your declarations will become lip service, which God detests. You will have offended the Holy Spirit that Christ himself did say was not pardonable. Why? As one having experience grace and yet live as though “faith without works” is ok, your heart has spat on God’s Grace and upon the Holy Spirit you have access to, whom continuously brings to remembrance all things.

        Love,
        (1) A fellow always attempting to be very repentant sinner, (2) who dares not even dare acknowledge he is a Christian publicly, (3) for fear Christ’s name will be diminished or be disgraced by my well-known misdeeds, (4) as I cannot turn back time to change that which I have transgressed under law, (5) but which my attempts at repentance are so minuscule because the law shows me the great magnitude of my wrongdoings, (6) though done (my repentance) and doing very God-fully sorrowfully and very sorry-ily, because (7) in Faith I know despite the extent of my badness, (8) Jesus love me this I know, (9) for the Bible tells me so, (10) so sings the Holy Spirit, as I tearfully end this typing. (11) Simply because I am so contrite now (12) I scarce can share anymore. (13) I wish you could see me now. (14) Cause sad eyes never lie.

         
      • Terence Hua

        August 28, 2016 at 1:46 pm

        Sorry for typos. Its close to 2.00a.m. where I live (GMT + 8). And I was a little overcome plus its not easy to put these matters across. Especially since I live where this Prince has his stronghold. Behold, lions surround me.

         
  6. Scott

    August 26, 2014 at 1:18 am

    God knows the hearts of all men and no one fools God. I’m glad I’m saved and Jesus loves me this I know. The “old time religion” is a lie and revival is coming to the entire world.

     
  7. Exel Villaruz

    October 13, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    Eternal Security heretical teaching? Were you worthy before God before you got saved? Were you any better after you got saved? Everything is by Grace…an undeserved favor which remains to be undeserved even after salvation…even after you become obedient to the Law. For I know whom, I have believed…and. I am persuaded that He is able…to keep that which I committed….unto Him against that day! If I keep my salvation I will lose it. But praise the Lord…Jesus keeps my salvation for me!

     
    • Nathan

      October 19, 2015 at 9:04 am

      amen

       
    • Terence Hua

      August 29, 2016 at 5:40 pm

      Because you can lose it before you have it wholly. Read more. Of the Bible that is.

       
  8. John

    November 4, 2014 at 10:47 am

    Nothing annointing of a false teacher and false prophet. People are unaware of his links to heretics deceased Kenneth Hagin, heretic Benny Hinn and Cho Yonggi – all are Word Faith movement not base on the Bible but Prosperity gospel, Once-saved always save teaching, Radical Grace – another false teachings. People READ the Bible and not be fooled by such charismatic charlatans.
    They are mostly deceivers of twisted interpretations.

     
    • abraham roland

      February 24, 2016 at 5:38 am

      MAN FROM GOD OH SORRY MAN OF GOD, CIRCUMCISED THE EIGHTH DAY, OF THE STOCK OF ISRAEL, OF THE TRIBE OF BENJAMIN, A HEBREW OF THE HEBREWS, CONCERNING THE LAW A PHARISEE, CONCERNING THE ZEAL PERSECUTING THE CHURCH, CONCERNING THE RIGHTEOUSNESS WHICH IS IN THE LAW BLAMLESS……MAY YOUR QUEST TO BE RIGHTEOUS BY WORKS NOT LEAD U TO ETERNAL DAMNATION SINCE TO U THE RIGHEOUSNESS THAT JESUS ACCOMPLISHED FOR US ON THE CROSS IS NOT ENOUGH FOR U. HAPPY WORKING TO PLEASE GOD. THERE IS NOTHING LIKE HYPER GRACE, GRACE IS GRACE. WHAT IS WRONG WITH U PEOPLE, U BELIEVED THAT ALL SINNED IN ADAM AND NO MATTER WHAT U DO U GO TO HELL, WHY IS IT DIFFICULT FOR U TO BELIVE THAT ALL HAS BEEN MADE RIGHTEOUS IN CHRIST NO MATTER WHAT U DO! YES I SAID NO MATTER WHAT U DO, GO AND REPORT ME IN HEAVEN. I GLORY IN THE FINISHED WORK OF CHRIST, SORRY BRO NO ROOM FOR U TO BOAST IN UR SELF DISCIPLINE, SO U CAN ACCUSE THOSE THAT ARE NOT UP TO U IN CHURCH. SHAME ON THE DEVIL! CHRIST HAS NOW BECOME FOR US RIGHTEOUSNESS, SANCTIFICATION, REDEMPTION, WISDOM AND JUSTIFICATION. SHAME OO! JESUS HAS BECOME EVERYTHING FOR THOSE OF US THAT ARE NOT AS STRONG AS U, WE ONLY NEED TO BELIEVE, TRUST AND RELY ON HIM. THIS IS THE TESTIMONY THAT GOD HAS GIVEN OF HIS SON THAT GOD HAS GIVEN US ETERNAL LIFE AND THIS LIFE IS IN THE SON. HA HA BROS THE LIFE GOD GAVE TO ME IAM NOT THE ONE LIVING IT, THE SON LIVE THE LIFE. MY RESPONSIBILITY IS TO TRUST AND RELY ON THE SON. THE WAGES OF SIN IS DEATH AND JESUS PAID IT BUT THE GIFT OF GOD IS ETERNAL LIFE AND I RECIEVE IT. SIMPLE GOSPEL MY BROTHER, YOUR COMPLEX THEOLOGY IS MAKING U MAD 4 SPEAKING AGAINST GOD’S ANNOINTED LIKE KENNETH HAGINS. WHEN JESUS DIED I DIED WITH HIM, WHEN HE RESURRECTED I WAS RAISED WITH HIM THAT IS THE ONLY REASON WHY I CANT GO TO HELL HE WENT THERE AS ME I CANT GO THERE AGAIN. BECAUSE HE DEFEATED DEATH AND HELL FOR ME I CAN ONLY REIGN WITH HIM. MY LIFE IS ALL ABOUT WHAT HE HAS DONE. WHEN U SEE PEOPLE LIKE ME IN HEAVEN( COS I PRAY U MAKE IT) TELL JESUS U CANT STAY WITH US IN HEAVEN THAT U PREFER HELL. UR CHOICE BRO! IAM FREEEEEEEEEEEEE

       
  9. John

    November 4, 2014 at 10:49 am

    See: http://www.evangelicaloutreach.org/joseph-prince-destined-to-reign.htm
    Examine carefully what he teaches with the better source – The Word of God.

     
  10. Victor Ng

    December 7, 2014 at 1:49 am

    I started out dismissing Prince based on a couple of sermons he preached, but over the years, I realize how easy it is to misrepresent/misunderstand his teachings this way. I’ve now read all his books and heard scores of his messages… and while I don’t always agree with his interpretation of scriptural truth, I’ve found him to be generally true to the Bible and centered on Christ. (For one, I believe he should address ‘Destined to Reign’ to the mature church-based Christian community, not to unbelievers or new believers, especially those struggling with the ‘I’m not good enough” mindset in service and Christian living and are ‘burning out’ or ‘spiritually dry’).

    Of course, the casual or occasional worshipper at NCC or reader/hearer of his messages could easily walk away with a wrong understanding of the grace and liberty and love so supernaturally and abundantly bestowed by God way above our expectations… these are the ones who need Paul’s and Jude’s warnings about cheapening the grace of God, a warning Prince frequently preaches as well.

    About dispensational biases: I think that critique is not fair… for instance, which Calvinist has ever allowed Arminian interpretations of certain Bible passages to alter the ‘TULIP’ perspective? Yet Calvinists are considered right-center in the evangelical faith!

    Perhaps our ‘botanical gospel’ commentator above has hit the nail on its head: we do need continual repentance and renewal of the mind by the Holy Spirit, reminding ourselves constantly that it is the blood of Christ that presents us righteous before our holy Creator, knowing nothing we do or try can achieve our salvation – while not forgetting that we can rest in confidence in the finished work of Christ on the cross once and for all!

     
  11. yani

    July 6, 2015 at 6:06 am

    Joseph Prince brings everything back to Jesus–like Paul did in the Bible. I can feel the love he has for Jesus. I hear him loving and praising God. I think some people are jealous of Pastor Prince on a very superficial level. It is easy to judge anyone.

     
  12. max

    October 11, 2016 at 9:29 am

    Amen , i totally agree with you… all you haters, Where are your testimonies? Joseph prince gets testimony one after the other about freedom from Porn addiction, drugs, chronic sickness… Where are yours? If his teaching is ‘so twisted’ Why does it seem so anointed with salvation and healing? If it was that bad, God would’ve done something supernatural by now to prevent such a poisonous teaching

     
  13. Pastor Steve...kevs dad...

    November 28, 2016 at 11:36 am

    We are once saved always saved! We are sealed by the Holy Spirit.. God Himself says that no one can take us from His Hand! Correct! And God also says in Titus 1:2. God cannot lie! I always test the spirits and discern before I speak.. Especially against Pastors.. So becareful whom you judge! Amen.. For God protects His anointed ones and prophets!

     
  14. Michele

    January 27, 2017 at 1:21 am

    Faith does not come about what is heard but Faith comes BY what is heard. Rom 1 16 Faith is the power of God unto Salvation. Saving Faith is not man doing his part in response to God having done his part. Saving Faith can only come about through the Gospel. Salvation is God work alone. This also show there is no other way to be saved but by the explicit gospel of CHRIST. This how you have entered into the other gospel of another as in Jude or Galatians. They are trusting their own righteousness, there own Faith, their behavior, You see it is Jesus who is our High Priest as in the cross the finished work of the cross. He fulfilled all that would have been demanded of us. Col 2 14 15 14 says “Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which is contrary to us and took it out of the way, nailing it to the cross 15 says” and having spoiled principalities, and powers He made a show of them openly triumphing over them in it Now any other gospel to saved by is another Gospel I do not see any other teachings than the grace through the obedience of Christ and us believing in him. Grace will transform. Why because it is the power of God Salvation is his idea through Christ and his work not ours. We just have to love others through that love that we received. God not us will change them. God is a redeeming God yes sin was judged and condemned at the CROSS those who believe that his the son of God and that God raised him from the dead will be saved. It does say confess with your mouth and believe in heart l. unto righteousness That is JESUS Righteousness is in the person of Jesus Not of works can any man boast. that’s what it means as far as everyone else and what you think is sin and why they are not saved only one way to no Do they believe. the rest is up to God and what they do or don’t do and what you do or don’t do has nothing like circumsiio the law doesn’t save circumsin doesn’t save. Only the shed blood and broken body that Jesus gave to us it is a gift. You can’t earn a gift. Submitting to the obedience of Christ our obedience is submitting to Christ bring it to the cross. Salvation is healing justification the whole thing So healing is sought through the cross. I have never heard anyone like Joseph Prince teach that so clearly. Grace is lived through Christ our precious savior His power transform us into the image of Christ. So all you out there look to Jesus the author of my faith. he is my high priest. quit trying to be your own high priest. that I believe is the another gospel Putting anything above Jesus
    \. .

     

Leave a Reply

 
