RSS

“The Cost For Proclaiming The Whole Counsel Of God”

31 Jul

Paul the Apostle declared,“I testify to you this day that I am innocent of the blood of all of you, for I did not shrink from declaring to you the whole counsel of God.”  [Acts 20:26-27]

What does it mean to be faithful to proclaim the whole counsel of God? Is there a costly price to be paid if one is faithful in doing so?

The author of this article says one will only be faithful to emulate Paul if we he can say with him,“I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself…”

Read  why this is the absolute qualifier!

rgh

“Preaching the whole counsel of God means more than preaching an expository sermon from Genesis 1 to Revelation 22. 

Preaching the whole counsel of God means standing up against power-hungry leaders that would happily damage the flock for their own gain. 

It means faithfully preaching a text even if it’s hard to be heard [over] the moo of the churches sacred cow.

It means getting in the lives of broken and rebellious people on a Thursday afternoon when you would rather be doing sermon prep.

It means being poured out continually.  Suffering.  Being misunderstood.  Being at times lonely.  Being rejected.  Being an outcast.”

http://sbcvoices.com/how-to-preach-the-whole-counsel-of-god/

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to ““The Cost For Proclaiming The Whole Counsel Of God”

  1. rcadow

    July 31, 2012 at 10:38 am

    So true. Many OT people who trusted God emphatically knew the cost, and it cost many of them their lives as well as NT people. I am learning that to TRUST God is not to believe that He will meet all my needs, but that I will live in eternity with Him because of the redemption given to me through Jesus’ blood and love. If we testify of God and His whole counsel we can be assured there will be no ears tickled, but reproof and correction will go forth, and will train us in righteousness, God’s righteousness, not our own. I trust God with my life, after all my life is not my own. I thank my King He has brought me to a place where I can say as Job said, “Though He slay me, yet will I trust in him…” – Job 13:15

     
  2. Mike Leake

    July 31, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks for the interaction. I’m glad you enjoyed the article.

     
  3. Kathy Thompson

    July 31, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    This is truth as we’ve experienced while being in the trenches. I need this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
