RSS

Top Five Regrets Of The Dying

24 Jul
Patient

Patient (Photo credit: Kimberly Mahr)

For many years , an Australian nurse has given hospice care to dying patients during the final stages of their lives.

Over the 12 weeks, Bonnie Ware says she witnessed patients gaining phenomenal clarity as death approached.

Patients were asked if they would do things differently or if they had regrets.Five commonalities continually surfaced:

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.”Bonnie notes that most people felt they wasted their healthy youths, and were remorseful for not taking advantage of the things they were able to do.
2. “I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.” Ware says she heard this from every male patient she nursed. 

3. “ I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.” Patients became ill from anger they had from unexpressed feelings. Many had suppressed these emotions in order to keep peace with others. This resulted in illnesses related to bitterness and resentment. 

4. “I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.” Many patients regretted losing touch with good friends, who they were unable to track down and contact in their final days.Everyone misses friends when they are dying.

5. “I wish that I had let myself be happier.” Many failed to realize that being happy was their choice.They chose to remain stuck in old patterns and habits.

http://www.preachingtoday.com/illustrations/2012/february/2022012.html

http://www.lovelyish.com/759285836/nurse-records-top-5-regrets-of-the-dying/

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in quotes, relationships, Uncategorized

 

One response to “Top Five Regrets Of The Dying

  1. Teressia Barber

    July 24, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Number 3 may confuse many people. We, as CHRISTIANS, are called to be ‘Peacemakers’, but not ‘peace-keepers’. Where there is no peace, we have nothing to keep, but when we speak the truth, in love, THE LORD said, that would not necessarily bring peace because we carry a SWORD. We can never forsake truth for unity.

     

Leave a Reply

 
