RSS

Secular Song Seeds The Sacred

13 Feb
Eric Clapton & Steve Winwood Sportpaleis Antwe...

Image via Wikipedia

Hugh, a personal friend, was converted in the early 70’s. He recently sent this video to me with Eric Clapton & Steve Winwood singing “Presence of The Lord.” 

His testimony demonstartes  what some refer to  as “pre-conversion sanctification”.

The Holy Spirit often employs unique and diverse means to initate his seminal work  in a sinners life and does so long in advance of  bringing one to saving faith.  This was  true in my own life as well.

rgh

  “…..believe it or not my first ever encounter with Holy Spirit  conviction was from hearing this song. When I was about 15, I spent the night with two of my friends. I was asleep on the floor and had the radio playing. During the night, this song played. I felt a serious tug, and I think I actually prayed some. 

The two friends were brothers and my drinking and doping friends. The Lord saved me just before turning 18. One of the brothers died when he was about 40, and the other brother about 5 years later. Neither of them ever stopped using. I did get a chance to talk with them about my conversion. ” 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2011 in influence, sanctification, Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Secular Song Seeds The Sacred

  1. FLIPP TODD

    February 13, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    there was a secular group called Kansas back in the 70’s that sang a song “all we a are is dust in the wind that had a simular effect on me,tugging at my heart. this reference to pre-converstion sactification is the first time I have heard this used and will have to think on this one for a while hmmmm?

     
  2. RGH

    February 14, 2011 at 7:41 am

    Flipp,
    Here is one resource for you to begin the Noble Berean process. Think you may find pre conversion santification a commonly held. One biblical instance among many is the Ethiopian Eunuchwho was reading scripture long before Phillip showed up to share the Gospel. Also, same thing with the House of Cornelius. God was already working long before Peter showed up. Selah!
    http://www.faithalone.org/journal/1993i/Wilkin.htm

     
    • FLIPP TODD

      February 21, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      thank you Richard for the lead,
      you the man!,”To God be the Glory”

       
      • FLIPP TODD

        February 21, 2011 at 11:31 pm

        Richard,
        Robert N Wilkin leaves me with much study on this subject and this will be fun I will get back to you in about a month(lol) once again, much thanks bro!
        blessings,
        flipp

         

Leave a Reply

 
