RSS

The Reformed Faith Within Arminian Churches?

15 Nov
Hillsong Church, a Pentecostal mega church in ...

Image via Wikipedia

George Barna just released a study on the Reformed Faith and the objective was  to determine if we are actually experiencing a resurgence of the movement. 

While all the information provided is of interest, I found  these  excerpts to be the most fascinating. Check this out!

rgh

….”The study found that 31% of pastors who lead churches within traditionally charismatic or Pentecostal denominations were described as Reformed, while 27% identified as Wesleyan/Arminian. This is somewhat surprising given that these denominations – including Assembly of God, Vineyard, Foursquare, and Church of God-Cleveland – are generally viewed as stemming from Wesleyan or Holiness traditions.”

….”In 2000, Calvinist churches typically drew 80 adult attenders per week, which compares to a median of 90 attenders in the 2010 study, about 13% higher than 10 years ago.”

…” the research shows that many pastors do not necessarily conform to traditional doctrinal perspectives when it comes to how they think about or operate in their ministries. In other words, most of the nation’s 300,000 Protestant churches are in a state of theological flux, apparently open to identities and trends that do not necessarily fall within expected denominational or doctrinal boundaries.”

http://www.barna.org/faith-spirituality/447-reformed-movement-in-american-churches

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2010 in charismatic, doctrine

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “The Reformed Faith Within Arminian Churches?

  1. Matt O'Brien

    November 15, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Hey Dr. Hanner,
    I still follow and appreciate your blog. Thanks for taking the time to antagoniz. I am curious. Where are you on the theological spectrum these days? Specifically, what do you believe about the doctrine of unconditional election and perseverance of the saints?

     
    • RGH

      November 16, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement Matt. While I whole heartedly embrace the 5 Sola’s, I have yet to do “buy in” to limited atonement. Mny who are essentially Reformed have this same reservation. Also, I embrace the principle of “perseverance of the saints” , I see the clear teaching of scripture concernng Apostasy. So, I am not a 5 point Calvinist but I absolutely am no Arminian.
      To many today force scripture to comply to their belief system. I embrace and advocate “The Supremacy of Scripture” to which ALL Belief Systems must conform.
      Hopes this helps.

       
  2. William Mikler

    November 17, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Very helpful. Several years ago Christianity Today published an article that said, in effect, that the most energetic movement in America was that of Calvinistic churches.

     
  3. Doug

    July 5, 2011 at 4:59 am

    I can certainly relate to a state of theological flux, as I myself have floundered back and forth at times trying to discover what I believe and why I believe it.

    From early childhood in a Wesleyan church, as a teenager I went to a Southern Baptist church where I was wrongly taught an antinomian view of eternal salvation. Proud in the salvation “I had attained” I certainly did become morally bankrupt, which caused me such troubles that I discarded the doctrine of eternal security altogether.

    With a zeal against the “once saved always saved” doctrine, I went on to the Assemblies of God and Arminianism. I struggled for years over the scriptural tension between warnings against apostasy and guarantees of the perseverance of the saints.

    Unless God has another journey to take me on, today the matter is settled for me thanks largely to the 13 volume exegetic on Romans by Dr Martin Lloyd/Jones (I love the book of Romans). I do believe in eternal salvation today, but rather than with the spirit of pride that I had when I was young, I am left on my knees asking, “Why me, Lord? Why did you choose to save even me?”

    So in my experience, theology has never really been a settled matter. I don’t know what lessons the Lord has for me yet to learn or what road He will take me down to learn those lessons aright.

    Maybe I’ll change my mind about how I view certain parts of the scriptures a hundred more times before this life comes to a close, but today I know it is all part of the “Perseverance of the Saints” which He is taking me through.

    Faith is a journey and I have never met another Christian who was exactly where I was, at any given time, on every theological point. How can I expect that an entire body of believers would be? “For now we see through a glass darkly…” But we strive to see more clearly and remain in one accord on our way.

     

Leave a Reply

 
