C. J. Mahaney Steps Aside To Face Charges

Charlie and C.J. Mahaney

Image by six steps  via Flickr

John Piper demonstrated great humility last year when he announced he was taking a 9 month sabbatical to invest in his marriage. Francis Chan showed great leadership when he confessed to compromising the “hard sayings” of Jesus to make his message more appealing. Now we get to observe what true accountability looks like when patterns of uncharactered behavior are persistently observed  by other leaders around us. 

 C.J. Mahaney, apostlic leader of sovereign Grace Ministries, announced this week he is taking a leave of absence in order to allow others to redemptively assess his life and ministry relative to the multiple charges that have been levied against him. While this news is disturbing, his submission to the board of Sovereign Grace Ministries as well as  to seasoned trans-local veterans  is most compelling. Quite  a contrast to Eddie Long and the recent absurd remarks made by Creflo Dollar.

Read more details on  the site’s posted below.

rgh  
C.J’s public statement:

“Over the last few years some former pastors and leaders in Sovereign Grace have made charges against me and informed me about offenses they have with me as well as other leaders in Sovereign Grace. These charges are serious and they have been very grieving to read. These charges are not related to any immorality or financial impropriety, but this doesn’t minimize their serious nature, which include various expressions of pride, unentreatability, deceit, sinful judgment, and hypocrisy.

I believe God is kindly disciplining me through this. I believe I have by the grace of God perceived a degree of my sin, and I have been grieved by my sin and its effects on others.  I have had the opportunity to confess my sin to some of those affected in various ways by my sin. And I am so very grateful for their forgiveness.  But I want to perceive and confess any and all sin I have committed.  Although my experience of conviction has already started—and this is an evidence of God’s mercy—I’m sure there is more for me to perceive and acknowledge.  Even with the charges I disagree with it has been beneficial to examine my soul and ask for the observation of others. “

http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/justintaylor/2011/07/07/c-j-mahaney-why-im-taking-a-leave-of-absence/

http://www.sovereigngraceministries.org/blogs/sgm/post/A-note-on-CJ-Mahaneys-leave-of-absence.aspx

4 comments on “C. J. Mahaney Steps Aside To Face Charges

  1. Thanks to pastor Mahaney for setting such a helpful example of humility. Gives me hope for my own prayers to be searched and known. Gives hope for the great grace of God through Christ. Will try to remember him in prayer.

  2. Pingback: A Sinful Job Description « Threads from Henry's Web

  3. Thank you. I need news such as this. I love it when leaders know when to pause and play back. We never stop learning and repenting. It is a maturing process. It is necessary and loving.

Leave a Reply

